She’s actually evil. Not High School evil

This film was being advertised for release in the States when I was in San Fran last year but I was never aware of a UK release which is sad because I would have liked to have seen it on the big screen.   I don’t know why it didn’t get a big UK release because i think this film is brilliant – it’s witty, subversive and despite the horror-com setting has some really important stuff to say about the dynamics of teen friendship. It’s Mean Girls with demons, blood and a hotter but shockingly even less talented version of Lindsay Lohan.  

We all know Diablo Cody as the writer of Juno and her writing really is what has made me love this movie. She’s got a way with the memorable quotes and although the interrelations of the girls in the film are exaggerated for the filmic arena they are still cuttingly accurate and not actually all that over dramafied.  There are a plethora of films out there which try to look at  the lives of teenage girls in a far more self conscious way and show you nothing. Yes this film might be full of murder, mayhem and slanguage but don’t write it off as inferior because of that, that is what makes it great.  

Here are a few of my favourite quotes from Jennifer’s Body:
“These are like smart bombs (grabbing Needy’s boobs), you point them in the right direction and shit gets real.”
“I’m not even a back-door virgin anymore thanks to Roman. By the way, that HURTS. I couldn’t even go to flags the next day. I had to stay at home and sit on a bag of frozen peas.”
“He listens to maggot rock. He wears nail polish. My dick is bigger than his”
“You need a mani bad. You should find a Chinese chick to buff your situation.”
“Do you buy all your murder weapons at Home Depot? God, you’re butch”

I went to see the Crazies the other week and am off to see Shutter Island tomorrow so when I have the time I will write a super long movie blog.

Leave a Reply

