Death is the sound of distant thunder at a picnic

On Sunday I am going to Gloucester to have a picnic with some of my favourite people, Miss Kate Erring, Miss Helen Highwater and Commander Emily Brown.   I love a good picnic and the Famous Five vibe which comes along with them.  There is something wildly romantic and decedent about packing up a picnic and lazing around in the countryside and it is also a brilliant way to spend a summer day which generally costs little more than a trip to the supermarket (although if you are me a trip to the supermarket can be a pricey thing).   

My picnicking responsibility is things on skewers and whilst I am a strong believer that everything tastes better on a stick I don’t have very many ideas – I’m going to do some healthy fruit skewers with watermelon, cantaloupe, grapes and strawberries and some sinful fruit skewers with strawberries, grapes, marshmallows and chocolate brownie pieces with chocolate dipping sauce.  I’m also going to do some vegetable skewers and some spicy chicken and red pepper skewers, actually come to think bout it that is probably sufficient especially as I am only contributing a quarter of the feast.

Our picnic will be taking place in the ground of Westurnburt Arboretum and after we dine we will be serenaded by James Morrison, as I write this I am reminded of a strange dream I once had;  James Morrison kidnapped me, locked me in a basement and would occasionally come in and sing at me but my weird dreams could fill at least a whole blog and probably many years of therapy so I won’t expand!  We have been having beautiful sunshine recently but sadly this week the rain has come so I have my fingers crossed that picnicking will not be a washout, although some of my favourite picnics have taken place in cars due to inclement weather. 

Source – Weheartit.com

Sidenote – when I was looking for images to accompany this blog I discovered that Picnic Love is a 1998 album by the band Anal Cunt, so that’s nice!

 

One thought on “Death is the sound of distant thunder at a picnic

Leave a Reply

