Paris – Chapter 1

I admit it, I am procrastinating. I should be writing a rather important assignment for my MA, and if I’m not going to do that I should be in bed warm and snuggled up because I’m a bit sick but I have bought an hours Internet time for my laptop and I would much rather use it writing a blog. To be honest it’s nice to be writing something fluently, I have the worst writers block with my assignment and every sentence has been a real battle. The deadline is Thursday and I have a long way to go so I am hoping that fear based motivation kicks in soon! Anyway, that’s not what I planned to write about, I was going to tell you about a rather delightful weekend I have just returned from in Paris.

After a rather early morning drive on the M4 (motorway) I met Kate Erring at her home and we made our way to St Pancras for our 12.30pm rendezvous with the Commander, lunch was enjoyed and I accidentally stole a packet of crisps. It was a genuine mistake, I did present them at the til along with my tomato and mozzarella panini but later realised I had not been billed for them. In all honesty I could have gone back and paid but by that point it had been a little while and the offending item had been consumed so I decided the embarrassment of returning to the shop to give them 60p far outweighed the guilt of my foray into shop lifting.

When travelling by Eurostar in the past I have always been on the car transporter so have never really experienced the check in procedures but they went very smoothly except for Kate Erring setting of the metal detector and being wanded, this became somewhat of a theme of the trip and in fact I believe it is a bit of a theme of Kate Erring’s life, there is a strong possibility that she is part adamantium.

The train ride itself was comfortable and brief, The Commander spent much of her time with Harry (Potter) whilst Kate Erring and I made detailed notes on the journey and the scenes from the window – 2.14pm: aboard train, stared out a small boy – and so forth. These leisurely pursuits were followed up by a blinding game of travel Cluedo in which I was victorious and then just as we had become acclimatised and settled we were in Paris. The 15 minute walk from Gare du Nord to our hotel turned out to be more like 30 minutes but I think the darkness and our disorientation played a large role in that. The Hotel Windsor Opera is all I could have hoped for and more. The reception area is decorated in a deep purple and accessorised with chrome aeroplane parts. Our room was large with an enormous freshly decorated bathroom and a little terraced area. As we unpacked and organised ourselves we watched a little of the French version of Don’t Forget The Lyrics, N’oubliez Pas Les Paroles – the French version of Shane Richie is terrifying and has the checks of a hamster!

Dinner was a dignified (!?!) affair we dined at a french bistro in the enclosed but outside heated area, Mojitos all round (mine an Apple one, I think that might be my new drink) and several games of Sex, Marry, Kill were enjoyed, I am pleased to announce that Bill Oddie is not as bad as Hitler!

After breakfast on Day Two, we made our way to Notre Dame, we visited hunchbacks and thankfully avoided being flattened by failing tourists in the style of Amelie’s mother. We then made our way to the river where we purchased Babtobus tickets and made our way to the Eiffel Tower by boat. There is little I love more than a good boat trip and this was certainly a good boat trip.

I must stop here for tonight, it is very cold in my little flat and I am going to get into bed with my electric blanket. I will continue soon and post some pictures as well, until then Bon Nuit.

Leave a Reply

